YouTube debates – modern communication reaches the politicians ears!

The President of USA is someone who has influence beyond the Earth, who has influence on the Earths entire population, so I thought, perhaps I should start looking into what presidential candidates that were running this time. YouTube and CNN has a feature for just that. On www.youtube.com/debates normal YouTubers is able to question the candidates. I thought that this way is genius, because it”s very rare that normal citizens of countries are able to stand in front of a high-ranked politicians such as Bush, or these senators and ask them about how they are going to help the nation.
I reach question 5, and the subject hits race. Question 6: Class. Question 7: Gender. All the candidates that spoke on these questions, on all the questions are all agreeing that the last eight years (Perhaps even the last 24 years, except candidate Clinton, who is very proud of her husbands achievements) has been disastrous, and that USA has indeed shameful moments. Obama speaks of “Corridors of Shame”, certain areas of USA that could be mistaken for Africa.
Candidate Edwards is against gay marriage, but won”t cite religion as reason to deny gay rights, and I believe that”s revolutionary, but it”s still odd.
As I started to watch these videos, I had a hard time telling them apart. Are they all the same? But as the questions went on, the difference is quite clear. Until now, we might be better of with a black man and a woman instead of that monkey, that USA currently uses as president. Gravel is a bit sensitive, isn’t he? “The only thing worse than one soldier dying in vain is more soldiers dying in vain”, he yells. I think he is a interesting character in this political game, but I don”t mind that Anderson (The person directing YouTube questions to politicians) don”t give him that many questions. Gravel is very unhappy about it, and yells “Is this fair?”, but does make a funny joke about it in question 18.

In question 25, a guy asks “What is your stance on nuclear power?”, and I believe that candidate Edwards mentions that we haven”t found a good nor safe way to dispose nuclear waste, and I wondered what much money are the hosts of nuclear power plants spending on finding a good and safe way to this? I believe that we have an enormous energy crisis at the moment, as we are still questioning whether it is natural or us creating these green house effects!
Question 27 is rather interesting, and Obama definitely handles the situation perfectly and doesn’t have to answer the actual question, “would you agree to be paid the minimum wage?”.
This debate certainly made me think, and apparently these candidates all qualify for being president of the USA for the time being. I have a term during such times, “Campaign Promises”. Candidates promise their nation about what they’ll do to make it all better, but never actually keep it. I hope, for once, that they’ll keep the promises and do something about the problems we have. I believe that USA could be our ‘saviour’, if they do it right.
In all, 38 questions has been answered and more to come on 17th of September.

I read something quite interesting just now. Apparently, only two GOP (Grand Old Party, Republican Party) candidates have agreed to participate in the upcoming show in September YouTube/CNN debate. More to come!

Leave a comment